pawel-czerwinski-9anj7QWy-2g-unsplash copie.jpg

Flute Transcriptions

Raquele Magalhães & Marie-Josèphe Jude

Ravel, Schumann, Debussy

Hurry

Raquele-Marie-Josephe.jpg

Press

5-etoiles-classica.jpg
fff-telerama.jpg
88-american_record_guide.png
logo_CMJN_mini.png
129-neue_musikzeitung.png
orf1_design106__v-body__16__9_-8356d68febb302a69d0d38655ca9b89002ae9eee.jpg
1-fono_forum.png
musicologie_org_570.jpg
LOGO-Traversiere-SITE-1.png

Telerama

Sophie Bourdais

Published the 08/09/2021

fff from Telerama September 2021
The flute is the star in these very successful transcriptions of Schumann, Ravel et Debussy.

[…] flutist Raquele Magalhaes and pianist Marie-Josèphe Jude have left nothing to chance, and have adapted scores written for the violin themselves. […] The quality of the playing and the harmony of the performers are just as important as the quality of the rewriting. In Ravel, the generosity and eloquence of the flute, cradled by an undulating piano, are a delight. The Schumann pieces and the Debussy Sonata, a mixture of poignant grace and playful poetry, give rise to a contest of commitment and expressiveness. And the richness of the colours of the Prelude elegantly composes the effacement of the orchestral timbres.

Classica

Pascal Gresset

June 2021

5 stars ***** from Classica magasine
Raquele Magalhães "Flute Transcriptions" works by Schumann, Debussy and Ravel

[…] The other works are due to both artists. Raquele Magalhaes' posthumous Sonata for violin and piano by Ravel is particularly convincing. This early work responds to the character of the flute through its kinship with Daphnis et Chloé or Debussy's Prelude. Evolving between enchantment, virtuosity and drama, the programme is interpreted in total connivance by performers who stimulate each other without dominating each other, at the service of both each other and the text.

American Record Guide

Gorman

July / August 2021

Flute Transcriptions |  Debussy, Ravel, Schumann
Raquele Magalhaes & Marie-Josephe Jude |  NoMad 75—68 minutes

[…] Raquele Magalhaes plays with a sound that is rich and clear. She also creates phenomenally smooth lines. With Jude, the Ravel is hypnotic. […] The oboe also projects differently from the flute, but the Romances work better and can be played with essentially no changes. These are interpreted superbly. The first might belong in a category of its own. Likewise, I’m delighted to hear the Debussy Sonata […]

The pianism from Marie-Josephe Jude gives these pieces everything they need, whether clarity or mystery. I loved this flutist’s 2016 debut album on Evidence (Jan/Feb 2017: 192) and feel no need to change my impression: to hear her is to fall in love with both the sound and musicianship.

La Traversière magasine N°137

Denis Verroust (President of Jean-Pierre Rampal Association)

June 2021

Maurice Ravel / Posthumous Sonata, Robert Schumann / Three Romances Op. 94 – Sonata in A minor Op. 105, Claude Debussy / Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun – Sonata n° 3

[…] For in addition to a number of 'technical' problems, the difficulty is also one of expressiveness: the original instrumental nature is of far greater importance, including in the collective consciousness! And it is to the credit of the performers that they have managed to convince in such a natural way.

From beginning to end, the two musicians seduce with a duet and a sense of balance of rare perfection, but also with a refinement of every moment. Whether it is the delicacy, the temperament, the colours or the virtuosity, everything is of supreme quality. As for Raquele Magalhaes, gifted with an exceptional sound, she captivates with the poetry of her playing, subtly thwarting the traps of transcription, and combining finesse and intensity with dazzling talent. The disc is dedicated to the memory of Alain Marion: it is obvious that he passed on to his pupil an extraordinary inspiration…

RMT News International

Benito Pelegrín

June 2021

Flute transcriptions / Marie-Josèphe Jude, piano and Raquele Magalhães, flute / Label NoMadMusic

[…] But there is also, as in this recording, the desire of two great artists to play together a wider repertoire than the smaller literature of their respective instruments, the piano and the flute. Marie-Josèphe Jude, pianist, and Raquele Magalhães, flautist, have the pleasure, for our sake, of renewing our understanding of certain pages of German Romanticism, through Robert Schumann, and of the French symbolism of Debussy and Ravel.

Composed in 1897, but published posthumously, Ravel's Sonata for violin and piano is transcribed by Raquele Magalhães, who takes us from the flight of the violin to the voluble vocality of the flute, sometimes dreamily melted in the silence, fluttering like a bird on the liquid flow of the piano. […] The roundness and dreamy softness of Raquele Magalhães's flute on Marie-Josèphe Jude's velvety piano, and the harmony of the instruments' volume and power (Track 7), as much as the tuning of the instruments, are to be savoured.

[…] Gustave Samazeuilh's transcription for flute and piano stretches out just as lazily and voluptuously as the sensual faun in the sun of desire, whose soft, smiling tressailment the two performers make us feel.

Journal d'Alsace

Thierry Boillot

4th July 2021

CD selected Day : Classical music Record of the say : from sonatas to romance with Raquele Maghalães & Marie-Josèphe Jude

[…] The flute brings a lightness that happily matches the melodic and rhythmic lines drawn by a virtuoso piano. A fabulous agreement between two musicians at the top of their art.

Anaclase

Herve König

July 2021

Recital Marie-Josèphe Jude and Raquele Magalhães
Debussy – Ravel – Schumann

[…] Its unique movement is adapted by the flautist herself. Its fresh elegance is loyally respected, in a spring rush, enthusiastic and fluttering. The delicate veil of the sonority of the piano like the controlled vehemence of the flute, in adorably carried phrases, are the assets of this attractive interpretation, visited by poetry. […] The voluble character of the flute easily reflects the shimmering treatment of the theme and its derived motifs. The fluidity of the piano skilfully leads its romantic wonder, highlighting the tragic shadow from which the modulation of the coda suffers. […]

The last does exactly the opposite: a heavy and dark atmosphere, sprinkled with optimistic outbursts. All the desired sensitivity is at the rendezvous of this disc. […] A few months before his death, the composer was finishing his Sonata for violin and piano in G minor. It is given here in an adaptation of the performers who conveys all the questions and pessimism.

German Newspaper NeueMuzikZeitung Print

Christoph Schlüren

June 2021

Transcriptions for flute : Works by Ravel, Schumann and Debussy

[…] The two merge into perfect expressive unity, and thus the transcriptions of violin sonatas by Schumann (No. 1), Debussy and Ravel (Sonate postume) are more than enchanting. Samazeuilh's transcription of the "Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune" could not be performed more idiomatically, and for me Raquele Magalhães represents the pinnacle of today's flute art.

Radio ORF

Peter Kislinger

May 28, 2021

Raquele Magalhães, magic flutist

[…] The objections to the transcription of Schumann's 1st Violin Sonata presented on the CD will not be completely dispelled. The fact that the piano does not cover up the soft flute sound and that the unusual combination seems almost apart after a round of rehearsals is also due to the pianist's noblesse, is above all thanks to the fabulously, fabulously, magically gentle, soft, dark and rich tone of the flutist.
For me, the highlights of the CD are two works by Debussy. Whether his Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune has ever been performed and, yes, sung in a more colourful, dynamically finely graded and seductive way? She always has the Brazilian "folk singers" of her childhood and youth in her ear when she plays it. […] The sonata for violin and piano, which was written 25 years later and has a classical feel, was transcribed by the two artists: they play as Debussy demands, fantastically, lightly, lively, moving and lively.

French website Opéramusiclassic

Philippe Gut

June 2021

Flute transcriptions, Ravel, Schumann, Debussy
1 CD NoMadMusic NMM075

[…] Here we have three Sonatas for violin and piano, the violin part of which is remarkably transcribed by the Brazilian flutist Raquele-Magalhães for her instrument, to which the chamber musician Marie-Josephe Jude, who needs no introduction, offers a superb pianistic setting. Ravel's "Posthumous Sonata" contrasts with Schumann's "Sonata opus 105" which follows, ending in apotheosis with Debussy's "Sonata no 3". […] Pages that their transcriptions tend to popularise while giving them another life; full and complete music.

Italian website Grey Panthers

Ferruccio Nuzzo

2nd september 2021

Flute Transcriptions, Ravel, Schumann, Debussy

[…] but in the intimate and warm sound of Raquele Magalhäes's flute they find a new, surprising vitality.

French website Musikzen

Franck Mallet

25th april 2021

Flute advantage
Exaltation of transcription thanks to Raquele Magalhães and Marie-Josèphe Jude

[…] Thus, Ravel's posthumous opus, his Sonata for violin and piano in a single movement from 1897, whose Faurean colouring can be savoured even more in the dreamy undulation of its flute. Twenty years later, Debussy's Sonata in G minor for violin and piano fascinates by its freedom of tone and the fusion it brings about between the two instruments, right up to the doubled notes of the 'Finale' - which are fully restored by the performers who also sign this version. […]

French website Classique c'est cool !

Hugues Rameau-Crays

17th may 2021

Raquele Magalhães & Marie-Josèphe Jude, Flute Transcriptions

[…] The Brazilian flutist thus enriches the repertoire of her instrument, which she defends with a precise sense of colour and a solid technique. In this way, the music of Ravel and Debussy seems completely natural. The Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, a huge hit in classical music, can even be rediscovered with interest thanks to this concentrated listening to the playing of the two musicians. […] A rare and generous artist, Marie-Josèphe Jude offers her delicate touch and her precious listening skills to make herself both an ideal partner for the flute and a pianist of great class. A real treat !

Musicology.org

Jean-Marc Warszawski

October 29, 2021

Raquele Magalhães and Marie-Josèphe Jude in adaptation mode

[…] What impresses on first hearing this CD is the quality of the duet playing, the fusion
of sound between the two instruments. It is obviously a very beautiful musical
encounter.
The incrustation of works by Robert Schumann between those of Maurice Ravel and
Claude Debussy is not as incongruous to the ear as one might have thought on
reading the programme. It does not cause any notable rupture, just a feeling of
changing planet.
This cede is a success, holding the attention without a measure of slackening, from
the first to the last second, in continuity. Claude de France's sickly Germanophobia
might make him cringe at being in such bad company... but it was so long ago.

pawel-czerwinski-9anj7QWy-2g-unsplash copie.jpg
Swiss Radio RTS - Espace 2 - Morning Music Show by Julie Granier

May 19, 2021

Listen to the podcast

Austrian Radio ORF1 - Cis broadcast by Peter Kislinger

May 28, 2021

Link

Radio France - Show En Piste! by Emilie Munera and Rodolphe Bruneau-Boulmier

April 9, 2021

Listen to the podcast

Radio France - Morning Music Show by Jean-Baptiste Urbain

July 19, 2021

Listen to the podcast

Radio France - Relax Show by Lionel Esparza

April 20, 2021

Listen to the podcast

Radio RCF - Show Echappée belle en Musique by Bruno Fumat

April 20, 2021

Link

pawel-czerwinski-9anj7QWy-2g-unsplash copie.jpg

Flute Transcriptions

Raquele Magalhães & Marie-Josèphe Jude

Ravel, Schumann, Debussy

Presse

Raquele-Marie-Josephe.jpg

Presse

5-etoiles-classica.jpg
fff-telerama.jpg
88-american_record_guide.png
logo_CMJN_mini.png
129-neue_musikzeitung.png
orf1_design106__v-body__16__9_-8356d68febb302a69d0d38655ca9b89002ae9eee.jpg
1-fono_forum.png
musicologie_org_570.jpg
LOGO-Traversiere-SITE-1.png

Télérama

Critique par Sophie Bourdais

Publié le 08/09/2021

La flûte tient la vedette dans ces transcriptions de Schumann, Ravel et Debussy fort réussies.

[…] la flûtiste Raquele Magalhaes et la pianiste Marie-Josèphe Jude n’ont rien laissé au hasard, et ont adapté d’elle-mêmes des partitions écrites pour le violon. […] La qualité de jeu et l’accord des interprètes importe tout autant que celle de la réécriture. Chez Ravel, la générosité et l’éloquence de la flûte, bercée par un piano ondoyant, font nos délices. Les pièces de Schumann et la Sonate de Debussy, mélange de grâce poignante et de poésie ludique, donnent lieu à un concours d’engagement et d’expressivité. Et la richesse des couleurs du Prélude compose élégamment l’effacement des timbres orchestraux.

Classica

Pascal Gresset

Juin 2021

5 étoiles Classica
Raquele Magalhães "Flute Transcriptions"

[…] Les autres réalisations sont dues aux deux artistes. Celle de la Sonate posthume pour violon et piano de Ravel par Raquele Magalhães se révèle particulièrement convaincante. Cette œuvre de jeunesse répond au caractère de la flûte grâce à sa parenté avec Daphnis et Chloé ou avec le Prélude de Debussy. Evoluant entre féérie, virtuosité et drame, le programme est interprété en totale connivence par des interprètes qui se stimulent sans se dominer, à la fois au service l'une de l'autre et du texte.

American Record Guide

Gorman

Juillet/Août 2021

Flute Transcriptions | Debussy, Ravel, Schumann
Raquele Magalhaes & Marie-Josephe Jude | NoMad 75—68 minutes

[…] Raquele Magalhaes joue avec un son riche et clair. Elle crée également des lignes d'une douceur phénoménale. Avec Jude, le Ravel est hypnotique. […] Le hautbois se projette également différemment de la flûte, mais les Romances fonctionnent mieux et peuvent être jouées avec pratiquement aucun changement. Elles sont superbement interprétées. La première pourrait appartenir à une catégorie à part. De même, je suis ravi d'entendre la Sonate de Debussy […]

Le « pianisme » de Marie-Josephe Jude donne à ces pièces tout ce dont elles ont besoin, que ce soit la clarté ou le mystère. J'ai adoré le premier album de cette flûtiste en 2016 chez Evidence (Jan/Fév 2017 : 192) et ne ressens pas le besoin de changer mon impression : l'entendre, c'est tomber amoureux à la fois du son et de la musicalité.

La Traversière

Denis Verroust, Président de l’Association Jean-Pierre Rampal

Juin 2021

Maurice Ravel / Sonate Posthume, Robert Schumann / Trois Romances Op. 94 – Sonate en la mineur Op. 105, Claude Debussy / Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune – Sonate n° 3

[…] Car outre quantité de problèmes « techniques », la difficulté y est également celle de l’expressivité : la nature instrumentale originale y revêt une importance bien supérieure, y compris dans la conscience collective ! Et c’est tout le mérite des interprètes que d’être parvenues ici à convaincre de façon aussi naturelle.

Car de bout en bout, les deux musiciennes séduisent par un duo et un sens de l’équilibre d’une rare perfection, mais également par un raffinement de chaque instant. Qu’il s’agisse de la délicatesse, du tempérament, des couleurs, ou de la virtuosité, tout est d’une qualité suprême. Quant à Raquele Magalhaes, douée d’une sonorité exceptionnelle, elle subjugue par la poésie du jeu, déjoue avec subtilité les pièges de la transcription, et allie finesse et intensité avec un talent éblouissant. Le disque est dédié à la mémoire d’Alain Marion : il est évident qu’il a transmis à son élève une inspiration hors du commun…

RMT News International

Benito Pelegrín

Juin 2021

Heureuses transcriptions

[…]  Mais il y a aussi, comme dans ce disque, le désir de deux grandes artistes de jouer ensemble un répertoire élargi au-delà de la littérature plus réduite de leurs instruments respectifs, le piano et la flûte. Marie-Josèphe Jude, pianiste, et Raquele Magalhães, flûtiste, se font donc le plaisir, pour le nôtre, de renouveler notre écoute de certaines pages du romantisme allemand, à travers Robert Schumann, et du symbolisme français de Debussy et Ravel.

Composée en 1897, mais avec une publication posthume, la Sonate pour violon et piano de Ravel, est transcrite par Raquele Magalhães, qui nous fait passer du vol du violon à la vocalité volubile de la flûte, fondue parfois rêveusement dans le silence, voletant tel un oiseau sur le ruissellement liquide du piano. […]

On goûtera la rondeur et la douceur rêveuse de la flûte de Raquele Magalhães sur le tapis velouté du piano de Marie-Josèphe Jude, et autant que l’accord des instruments, l’harmonie de leur volume et puissance […]

La transcription pour flûte et piano de Gustave Samazeuilh s’étire tout aussi paresseusement, et voluptueusement que le faune sensuel au soleil du désir dont les deux interprètes complices font sentir le doux et souriant tressaillement.

L'Alsace

Juillet 2021

Le disque du jour : de sonates en romance avec Raquele Maghalães & Marie-Josèphe Jude

[…] La flûte apporte une légèreté épousant avec bonheur les lignes mélodiques et rythmiques tracées par un piano virtuose. Une fabuleuse entente entre deux musiciennes au sommet de leur art.

Anaclase

Hervé König

Juillet 2021

Récital Marie-Josèphe Jude et Raquele Magalhães
Debussy – Ravel – Schumann

[…] Son unique mouvement est adapté par la flûtiste elle-même. Sa fraîche élégance est loyalement respectée, dans un élan printanier, enthousiaste et papillonnant. Le voile délicat de la sonorité du piano comme la véhémence contrôlée de la flûte, dans des phrases adorablement emportées, sont les atouts de cette attractive interprétation, visitée par la poésie. […] Le caractère volubile de la flûte traduit facilement le chatoyant traitement du thème et de ses motifs dérivés. La fluidité du piano en mène habilement l’émerveillement romantique, soulignant l’ombre tragique dont souffre la modulation de la coda. […]

La dernière fait exactement l’inverse : atmosphère lourde et sombre, parsemée de sursauts optimistes. Toute la sensibilité souhaitée est au rendez-vous de ce disque. […] Quelques mois avant de disparaître, le compositeur achevait sa Sonate pour violon et piano en sol mineur. Elle est ici donnée dans une adaptation des interprètes qui en transmet tous les questionnements et le pessimisme.

Journal Allemand NeueMuzikZeitung Print

Christoph Schlüren

Juin 2021

Raquele Magalhães, flûtiste magique

Traduit de l'allemand

[…] Les deux se fondent en une parfaite unité expressive, et ainsi les transcriptions des sonates pour violon de Schumann (n° 1), Debussy et Ravel (Sonate postume) sont plus qu'enchanteresses. La transcription du "Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune" de Samazeuilh ne pouvait pas être interprétée de manière plus idiomatique, et pour moi Raquele Magalhães représente le sommet de l'art de la flûte d'aujourd'hui.

Radio ORF

Peter Kislinger

28 mai 2021

Raquele Magalhães, flûtiste magique

Traduit de l'allemand

[…] Les objections à la transcription de la 1ère Sonate pour violon de Schumann présentée sur le CD ne seront pas complètement dissipées. Le fait que le piano ne couvre pas le doux son de la flûte et que la combinaison inhabituelle semble presque à part après une série de répétitions est également dû à la noblesse du pianiste, est surtout grâce au son fabuleusement, fabuleusement, magiquement doux, doux, sombre et riche du flûtiste.
Pour moi, les points forts du CD sont deux œuvres de Debussy. Son Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune a-t-il jamais été joué et, oui, chanté d'une manière plus colorée, plus fine et plus séduisante ? Lorsqu'elle le joue, elle a toujours à l'oreille les "chanteurs folkloriques" brésiliens de son enfance et de sa jeunesse.

[…] La sonate pour violon et piano, écrite 25 ans plus tard et d'inspiration classique, a été transcrite par les deux artistes : ils jouent comme Debussy l'exige, de manière fantastique, légère, vivante, émouvante et animée.

Opéramusiclassic

Philippe Gut

Mai 2021

Flute Transcriptions, Ravel, Schumann, Debussy

[…] On a là trois Sonates pour violon et piano dont la partie violon est transcrite remarquablement par la flûtiste brésilienne RaqueleMagalhães pour son instrument auquel la chambriste Marie-Josephe Jude, qu’on ne présente plus, offre un superbe écrin pianistique. Successivement la « Sonate posthume » de Ravel contrastant avec la « Sonate opus 105 » de Schumann qui suit pour s’achever en apothéose par la « Sonate n°3 » de Debussy. […]

Des pages que leurs transcriptions tendent à populariser tout en leur conférant une autre vie ; de la musique pleine et entière.

Site italien Grey Panthers

Ferruccio Nuzzo

2 septembre 2021

Flute Transcriptions, Ravel, Schumann, Debussy

[…] mais dans le son intime et chaleureux de la flûte de Raquele Magalhäes, elles trouvent une vitalité nouvelle et surprenante.

Site français Musikzen

Franck Mallet

25 avril 2021

Atout flûte
Exaltation de la transcription grâce à Raquele Magalhães et Marie-Josèphe Jude

[…] Ainsi, l’opus posthume de Ravel, sa Sonate pour violon et piano en un seul mouvement de 1897, dont on goûte davantage encore le coloris fauréen dans l’ondoiement rêveur de sa flûte. Vingt ans plus tard, la Sonate en sol mineur pour violon et piano de Debussy fascine par sa liberté de ton et la fusion qu’elle opère entre les deux instruments, jusqu’aux notes doublées du « Finale » – et que restituent pleinement les interprètes qui signent en outre cette version.

Site français Classique c'est cool !

Hugues Rameau-Crays

17 mai 2021

Raquele Magalhães & Marie-Josèphe Jude, Flute Transcriptions

[…] La flutiste brésilienne enrichit ainsi le répertoire de son instrument qu’elle défend avec un sens précis des couleurs et une technique solide. Ainsi interprétée, la musique de Ravel et de Debussy semble  complètement naturelle. Le Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune, immense tube de la musique classique, se redécouvre même avec intérêt grâce à cette écoute concentrée sur le jeu des deux musiciennes. Le romantisme de Schumann sied mieux au piano qui passe ainsi au premier plan. Artiste rare et généreuse, Marie-Josèphe Jude offre son toucher délicat et son écoute précieuse pour se faire à la fois partenaire idéale de la flûte et pianiste de très grande classe. Un vrai régal !

Musicologie.org

Jean-Marc Warszawski

29 octobre 2021

Raquele Magalhães et Marie-Josèphe Jude en mode adaptation

[…] Ce qui imprime, à première écoute de ce cédé, est la qualité du jeu en duo, la fusion
sonore des deux instruments. C’est évidemment une très belle rencontre musicale.
L’incrustation d’œuvres de Robert Schumann entre celles de Maurice Ravel et de
Claude Debussy n’est pas aussi incongrue à l’oreille qu’on aurait pu le penser à la
lecture du programme. Elle ne provoque pas de rupture notable, le sentiment de
changer de planète.
Ce cédé est une réussite, qui maintient l’attention sans une mesure de relâchement,
de la première à la dernière seconde, en continuum. La germanophobie maladive de
Claude de France lui fera peut-être grincer les dents pour être en si mauvaise
compagnie…  mais il y a si longtemps.

pawel-czerwinski-9anj7QWy-2g-unsplash copie.jpg
Radio Suisse RTS - Espace 2 - Emission Musique Matin par Julie Granier

19 mai 2021

Ecouter le podcast

Radio Autrichienne ORF1 - Emission de la Cis par Peter Kislinger

28 mai 2021

Lien

Radio France - Emission En Piste ! par Emilie Munera et Rodolphe Bruneau-Boulmier

9 avril 2021

Ecouter le podcast

Radio France - Emission Musique Matin par Jean-Baptiste Urbain

19 juillet 2021

Ecouter le podcast

Radio France - Emission Relax par Lionel Esparza

20 avril 2021

Ecouter le podcast

Radio RCF - Emission Echappée belle en Musique par Bruno Fumat

20 avril 2021

Lien